Protection of Conscience Project
Protection of Conscience Project
Service, not Servitude

Service, not Servitude

Special Joint Committee on Physician Assisted Dying
Parliament of Canada (January-February, 2016)

Witness Presentations, Meetings 8-12

Parliament Hill

Witnesses were heard during 10 Committee meetings.  Witness lists and links to full videos and transcripts of the meetings are provided below.  In addition, edited videos showing discussion relevant to freedom of conscience are provided for each meeting.

Meeting No. 8: 1 February, 2016
Full Video | Full Transcript
British Columbia Civil Liberties Association

Josh Paterson, Executive Director

Grace Pastine, Litigation Director

 Brief (Brief Extracts)

Justice Centre for Constitutional Freedoms

Jay Cameron, Barrister and Solicitor

Brief (Brief Extracts)

Dying With Dignity Canada

Wanda Morris, Chief Executive Officer

Shanaaz Gokool, Chief Operating Officer and National Campaigns Director

College of Family Physicians of Canada

Dr. Francine Lemire, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

 Re: Canadian Medical Association Proposal
Alzheimer Society of Canada

Mimi Lowi-Young, Chief Executive Officer

Debbie Benczkowski, Chief Operating Officer

Meeting No. 9:  1 February, 2016
Full Video | Full Transcript
Canadian Cancer Society

Gabriel Miller, Director, Public Issues

Kelly Masotti, Assistant Director, Public Issues

First Nations University of Canada

Carrie Bourassa, Professor, Indigenous Health Studies

Meeting No. 10:  2 February, 2016
Full Video | Full Transcript
As an individual

Carolyn Ells, Associate Professor, Medicine, Biomedical Ethics Unit, McGill University

Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association

Sharon Baxter, Executive Director

Dying With Dignity Canada

Derryck Smith, Chair of Physicians Advisory Council

College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia

Dr. Douglas Grant, Registrar and Chief Executive Officer

Marjorie Hickey, Legal Counsel

Criminal Lawyers' Association

Leo Russomanno, Member and Criminal Defence Counsel

Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada

Dr. Alika Lafontaine, President

DWD, Ells, Canadian Hospice & Palliative Care Association>
Re: Referral/Transfer of Care

Meeting No. 11:  3 February, 2016
Full Video | Full Transcript
Coalition for HealthCARE and Conscience

Cardinal Thomas Collins, Archbishop, Archdiocese of Toronto

Laurence Worthen, Executive Director, Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada

Brief (Brief Extracts)

Canadian Unitarian Council

Vyda Ng, Executive Director

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

Dr. Tarek Rajji, Chief, Geriatric Psychiatry

Kristin Taylor, Vice-President, Legal Services


Canadian Paediatric Society

Dr. Dawn Davies, Chair, Bioethics Committee

Mary J Shariff, Associate Professor of Law and Associate Dean Academic, University of Manitoba

Brief (Brief Extracts)

Canadian Council of Imams

Imam Sikander Hashmi, Spokesperson

Brief (Brief Extracts)

Meeting No 12:  4 February, 2016
Full Video | Full Transcript
DisAbled Women's Network of Canada

Carmela Hutchison, President


Alliance of People with Disabilities Who Are Supportive of Legal Assisted Dying Society

Margaret Birrell, President

Angus M. Gunn, Counsel

As an individual

Margaret Somerville, Professor, McGill University

Brief (Brief Extracts)

The Canadian Medical Protective Association

Dr. Hartley Stern, Executive Director and Chief Executive Office

Brief (Brief Extracts)

Canadian Association for Community Living

Michael Bach, Executive Vice-President

As an individual

Gerald Chipeur, Lawyer

Brief (Brief Extracts)

Society of Rural Physicians of Canada

Dr. John Soles, President